Shortbread Cookies

I made these cookies about 2 weeks ago when it was -25 outside.  I really wanted something sweet to eat and did not want to go out, so I decided to make some cookies.  Of course I did not have all of the needed ingredients for most cookies, i.e. no milk or eggs.  But I did have all the ingredients for shortbread cookies!  here is the step by step of my cookies I made.

Here is the recipe in short, you can view the entire recipe here on Martha Stewart’s Website

Ingredients:
1 cup of unsalted butter
3/4 cup of sifted sugar
1 teaspoon of pure vanilla extract
2 cups of flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
Making shortbread cookies - set up
There is a section of the recipe for dipping the cookies in chocolate but I was too lazy to do that to all of them 🙂
1. Start with soften butter.  Please make sure it is softened not melted like I did.  I was too impatient for the butter to ‘soften’ and tossed it in the microwave for a bit too long.
Making shortbread cookies - melted butter
2. Add the sugar, vanilla, and salt to the soften butter and cream with a whisk.  Since I have melted butter this really didn’t cream, it kind of mixed together, sort of…
Making shortbread cookies - butter, sugar, vanilla, salt
3. Add in the flour and mix it up.
Making shortbread cookies - flour
4. Chill in the refrigerate for a short time.  The dough becomes very hard really quick.  If you leave it in the frig for more than 30 minutes, you will have to let it sit out for about an hour to be able to remove the dough from the mixing bowl.
Making shortbread cookies - mixed
5. Roll out the dough and cut shapes.  Ya, I forgot to take pictures of this until almost the end.
Making shortbread cookies - cookies cut
Ducky Cookies!
Making shortbread cookies - ducky cookies
6. Place your lovely shaped cookies on a baking sheet and cook for about 18 minutes at 300 F degrees
Making shortbread cookies - ready to bake
7.  The slightly golden cookies.
Making shortbread cookies - cookies baked
8. And all the cookies cooked, minus the ones I kept eating.  You have to do quality control on each tray!
Making shortbread cookies - all cooked
9.  Enjoy a cookie or two, I did dip these in chocolate, with a wonderful warm drink!
Perfect afternoon snack
signature 2
One thought on “Shortbread Cookies

Leave a Reply

