Motivation to Move

Shoes

Sitting at the edge of the bed with my shoes on ready to work out. Tying to convince myself to get up and step on the elliptical. In my mind I try to come up with a million other things to do: clean the dishes, play with the cat, start dinner, work on the blog, or start the wash. I have to push that all out of my mind, “It’s only 1 hour, 60 minutes, 1/24 of the day, 1 real house wife’s episode, that’s all the time it will take to get on that elliptical , move your body, get your circulation going and sweat out the stress. Its really not that much time.” I lift myself off the bed, my feet and hands freezing cold and stiff. Step on to the elliptical and turn on the tv. The first movements of my legs and arms feel old and tired. I remind myself if I keep going it will get better. I start watching the tv show and move faster on the machine. By the end of the show I can’t believe how good I feel. My hands and arms are finally skin colored and not purple ish, I can feel my fingers again. My knees feel awesome and my toes, oh my toes, I can wiggle each one and feel them! My whole body has come alive, heart pumping, blood flowing, muscles tensing and relaxing, it feels fantastic. I try to remember this feeling so that tomorrow I’ll jump right on and start working out.

30 or 60 minutes it doesn’t take much time and you will feel alive, your stress will melt away. Either inside or outside in the elements your body will thank you for reminder that you are alive!

signature 2

Leave a Reply

